Drew Pompa @ Mixcloud

January 20, 2017 at 1:08 am


Greetings to all of the hooligans out there who have enjoyed our releases and tripped-out deejay mixes over the years. Great news has come! WAAM co-conspirator, Drew Pompa, has launched a solo mixcloud page that includes nearly 30 mixes spanning his time as a record enthusiast slash deejay. The list of mixes serve as a time capsule for Drew’s evolution in music, from his early years as a techno and house deejay to the beginnings of Aphotic Segment. There is something in here for just about everyone. Whether you’re looking for a dance mix or a psyched-out session or a little funk, world, and hip hop, Drew’s got your back! Check out his list of mixes at the mixcloud page below. If you like what you hear, feel free to drop a line to – weareallmachines [dot] us [at] gmail [dot] com

Drew’s Mixcloud Page Full of Delights

For right now, we’ve embedded part one of Drew’s farwell mix from Katoi in Detroit this past December. Keep your eyes peeled for part two in the next month or so. Keep it easy…. wasn’t easy!

The Siege – Zama (WAAM-03) Available TODAY

August 23, 2016 at 3:51 pm


Third times a charm, so it has been said. The Siege returns for number three in We Are All Machine’s catalog and this dog hunts. WAAM 03, Zama, finds the Siege exploring the psychedelic frontiers of modern dance. With 3 representing creativity, optimism, and renewal, it has become illuminated, in retrospect, that the Siege was subconsciously driven to birth these three tracks about time travel, rejuvenation, emotional exhaustion spurred by creation, loss, overexertion, and hope, among other uniquely human themes.

Applying recently developed techniques, incorporating newfound vintage gear, and hitting their production stride, Zama is the Siege’s most vocal laden and richly textured work to date. Swirling dub, art funk, and minimal psychedelia all conspire in a dense, dance mélange reminiscent of slow braised pork mole; ostensibly simple, yet delightfully delicious.

The cresting pads, hypnotic, layered beats, post rock sensibilities, and absurdist art that have all burrowed into the Siege’s collective psyches for many decades are slowly revealing themselves in each new production they create. They keep searching back further and further to find deeper inspiration to go farther and you needn’t search beyond Zama to see the truth in this.

We Are All Machines

Trent Abbe – Live @ Aphotic Segment – 06/07/2015

June 12, 2015 at 5:04 pm


Venerable Michigan-based deejay, Trent Abbe takes the listener on an encyclopedic journey through roughly five decades of music. His selections highlight the many influences that have come to define Trent’s eclectic style behind the decks. Three hours of pure bliss, running the gamut from dancefloor, acid tracks and experimental to post-punk and industrial. Definitely for fans of Touch and Go, Wax Trax, Factory, Warp and Schematic. Enjoy!

1) Roland P. Young – Night Air – EM Records
2) The Durutti Column – Never Known – Fac 44
3) Trent Abbe – Aphoticism – Unreleased
4) Robert Fripp – Under Heavy Manners – Polydor
5) Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes – Dododo (Ekassa No. 1) – Strut
6) Can – ….And More – Spoon
7) The Budos Band – Ghost Walk – Daptone
8) Propaganda – Machinery (Passive) – ZTT
9) Front 242 – Take One – Wax Trax!
10) Greater Than One – Dub Killer – Wax Trax!
11) Cold Cut – Space Journey (Soul Cry remix) – Ninja Tune
12) Potuznik – Solid Gold – Cheap
13) Front 242 – Quite Unusual – Nettwerk
14) Meat Beat Manifesto – God O.D (Part 1) – Sweatbox
15) Ecstasy Club – Jesus Loves The Acid – LD
16) Le Car – Fony – Monoplaza
17) Phoenecia – Odd Job (Get Fresh) – Schematic
18) 808 State – Flow Coma (AFX Remix) – Men
19) Phoenecia – Untitled – Schematic
20) Autechre – Draun Quarter – Warp
21) Depeche Mode – Everything Counts (Troy Pierce Mix) – Not On Label
22) Sluts & Strings & 909 – Crunchy Custom – Cheap
23) Adult – High Heels On The Floors – Ersatz Audio
24) Nitzer Ebb – Warsaw Ghetto – Geffen
25) Gang Of Four – Not Great Men – Warner
26) !!! – Shit Scheisse Merde (Pt 1) – Touch And Go
27) The Stooges – Down On The Street – Elektra
28) Sex Pistols – Sub-Mission – Warner
29) A Certain Ratio – Do The Du (casse) – Facus 4
30) New Order – Hurt – Fac 63 (7”)
31) KMFDM – Naff Off – Wax Trax!
32) Front 242 – Masterhit (LP Edit) – Wax Trax!
33) Front Line Assemply – No Limit – Wax Trax!
34) Ministry – Cold Life Dub – Wax Trax!
35) Front 242 – Controversy Between – Wax Trax!
36) Autechre – Rpeg – Warp
37) The Sisters Of Mercy – Lucretia My Reflection – Warner
38) A.E.S. – Music In My Head – Tresor
39) A Guy Called Gerald – Voodoo Ray – Warlock
40) Blake Baxter – Does Not Compute – KMS

WAAM Boom Pow Cast 04 w/ Drew Pompa

December 22, 2014 at 5:52 pm


It’s been awhile since We Are All Machines has offered up a mix, and this newest soundscape from Drew Pompa is a damn fine rendition of the most current stuff that you’ll find him laying down at his monthly Aphotic Segment event.

Drew’s mix expresses his record collecting habits over this past year, channeling his many influences. He opens the mix with a haunting introduction, building it into dubby electronic and meandering through post-punk and more abrasive, repetitive carnal punk offerings, before he completely loses site of mind and slams into experimental African electronics, funk, and garage. From here Drew re-introduces his electronic and punk leanings before ending with ethereal and Indonesian soul. You could surmise that Drew’s major theme within this mix, is his lack of musical fluidity and also his strength for embracing the many influences he deems important to the constitution of record collecting. Enjoy!

01) Black Rain – Profusion – Blackest Ever Black
02) Demdike Stare – Regolith – Modern Love
03) What We’ll Be – Clara Moonglow’s Magic – We Are All Machines
04) Human Teenager – Permanent Skin – Spectrum Spools
05) Edvard Graham Lewis – Where’s The Affen? – Editions Mego
06) New Order – ICB – Factory Records
07) Carter Tutti Void – Side B V3 – Mute
08) Roland P. Young – Dessert Cave – EM / Honest Jon’s
09) Moin – Murphy – Blackest Ever Black
10) The Soft Moon – Dead Love – Captured Tracks
11) Total Control – See More Glass – Iron Lung Records
12) Horrid Red – Horrid Life (Burial) – Terrible Records
13) Black Marble – MSQ No-Extra – Hardly Art
14) Harmonia – Dino – Brain, Brain, Brain
15) Juenesse D’Ivoire – Gift Of Tears – Spittle / Goodfellas
16) Francis Bebey – New Track – Born Bad Records
17) Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou – Akoue We Gni Gan – Analog Africa
18) Rob – Loose Up Yourself – Analog Africa
19) The Gories – I’ll Go – Crypt Records
20) Chad Van Gaalen – Burning Photographs – Sub Pop
21) Cocteau Twins – In Our Angelhood – 4AD
22) Neu! – Hallo Gallo – Soul Jazz
23) Powell – Oh No, New York – The Death of Rave
24) Acteurs – Cloud Generating – Public Information
25) Toy – Conductor – Heavenly Recordings
25) The Siege – Nervous Twitch Fucks Up Signaling Devices
26) Ssleeperhold – Time Ghosts (i &ii) – Holodeck / Light Lodge
27) Nouveaux Riches – 25 ans – Born Bad Records
28) Le’ Travo – Chiaroscuro – Dark Entries
29) The KVB – From Afar – A Records
30) Jeff and Jane Hudson – PCP – Captured Tracks / Dark Entries
31) Laurie Anderson – Kokoku – Warner Bros.
32) Jon Hassell / Brian Eno – Ba Benzele’ – Editions EG / Polydor
33) Those Shocking Shaking Days – Super Kid “People” Now-Again